Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Animal and Molecular Model Systems > Yeast Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Yeast Forum Discuss research on yeast the model organism. Post questions and topics on the molecular biology and genetics of Saccharomyces cerevisiae and other yeast species.


plasmid transformation using yeast

plasmid transformation using yeast - Yeast Forum

plasmid transformation using yeast - Discuss research on yeast the model organism. Post questions and topics on the molecular biology and genetics of Saccharomyces cerevisiae and other yeast species.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2009, 10:26 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 62, Level: 1 Points: 62, Level: 1 Points: 62, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default plasmid transformation using yeast



Hi Everybody,

I had a question........
I`m working on a yeast display system using the yeast strain EBY100.
When I`m transforming the yeast with plasmid using competent yeast cells or electroporation device ......i have always colonies using the selective medium SDCAA.....even when the yeast strain is not transformed....
Did anybody encounter such a problem .....high background ?

The plasmid contains tryp- while the EBY100 strain does not.....so using the SDCAA media (that does not contain tryp) theoretically only the `transformed` yeast strain should grow and not the empty yeast strain........

please advice.
your help is highly appreciated.
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2009, 06:44 PM
pigfarmer's Avatar
Summer Student
Points: 3,196, Level: 36 Points: 3,196, Level: 36 Points: 3,196, Level: 36
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 99
Thanks: 26
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: plasmid transformation using yeast

How do you know you don't have plasmid in the yeast?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2009, 01:11 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 62, Level: 1 Points: 62, Level: 1 Points: 62, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: plasmid transformation using yeast

we received the EBY100 strain from two different sources ....what makes it unlikely that these yeast strain contain any plasmid
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to davidfranco72 For This Useful Post:
hairongxu88 (06-12-2012)
  #4  
Old 09-16-2009, 07:34 PM
pigfarmer's Avatar
Summer Student
Points: 3,196, Level: 36 Points: 3,196, Level: 36 Points: 3,196, Level: 36
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 99
Thanks: 26
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: plasmid transformation using yeast

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidfranco72 View Post
we received the EBY100 strain from two different sources ....what makes it unlikely that these yeast strain contain any plasmid
So doesn't that make it more likely that they now have the plasmid in them, and something is wrong with whatever you are doing that makes you think you don't have plasmid in them? Yeast transformation with a amino acid marker is pretty damn good.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pigfarmer For This Useful Post:
davidfranco72 (10-04-2009)
  #5  
Old 10-04-2009, 04:25 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 62, Level: 1 Points: 62, Level: 1 Points: 62, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: plasmid transformation using yeast

to recapitulate..........

We received the EBY strains from two sources......
When we transform the yeast strains we can check the transformation efficiency by first doing some induction.......and then looking at the expression of a tag in our case cmyc tag by yeast......this works....

in the yeast strain that we electroporated but without adding some plasmids......they also grow in the selective media .....so it seems that the yeast strain contain tryp.....
After colony PCR to look at the presence of tryp.....
both show presence of tryp in their genome........
when inducing these yeast strain they don`t express the cmyc tag what indicates the absence of plasmid.......
The problem is that they still grow on selective media.....and shouldn`t .....
Could you give me suggestions ?
thanks
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2009, 11:02 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 172, Level: 3 Points: 172, Level: 3 Points: 172, Level: 3
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: plasmid transformation using yeast

Can you go back to your very original EBY strain that you received? It sounds like to me you might have gotten a contamination of your yeast strain with "in-the-wild" yeast. Check to see if the strain you electroporated can grow on -leu, -ura-, and -his. If it can grow on all of them, it's probably not the strain you think you have. "In the wild yeast" look like well, yeast, so it's really hard to know you have contamination until the strain doesn't behave the way it should.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jennifer.chang02 For This Useful Post:
hairongxu88 (06-12-2012)
  #7  
Old 06-13-2012, 02:09 AM
Volunteer
Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: plasmid transformation using yeast

It seems that I have the same problem with you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2012, 05:16 AM
Volunteer
Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: plasmid transformation using yeast

It seems that I have the same problem with you. I want to know if the problem had solved? and how? I am seeking help urgently. Thanks advanced.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2012, 12:57 AM
Volunteer
Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: plasmid transformation using yeast

Hello, davidfranco72,I saw your question about yeast EBY100 ,I want to know if the problem had
solved?and how? It seems that I have the same question with you.I don't know how to identify the
wild yeast which contain nothing plasmia. Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-18-2012, 06:17 AM
Volunteer
Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: plasmid transformation using yeast

anyone could help me?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plasmid , transformation , yeast


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Saccharomyces Sequences 09/08/04 SGD Sequences Yeast Forum 0 09-13-2004 10:07 PM
New Saccharomyces Sequences 08/11/04 SGD Sequences Yeast Forum 0 08-12-2004 12:26 AM
yeast plasmid preps johnspar@earthlink.net Yeast Forum 0 02-20-2004 02:13 AM
Yeast plasmid preps Timothy Caspar Protocols and Methods Forum 0 01-30-2004 06:26 PM
for your kind help about yeast transformation again shude yang Protocols and Methods Forum 0 09-01-2003 01:32 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Molecular Station | All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.18652 seconds with 16 queries