Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Protein Science > Western Blot Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Western Blot Forum Discuss western blotting and immunoblot in the western blot forum discussion board. Ask Questions about transfers, blocking, membrane antibody incubation and exposures.

Slant, inconsistent marker bands in Western blot

Slant, inconsistent marker bands in Western blot - Western Blot Forum

Slant, inconsistent marker bands in Western blot - Discuss western blotting and immunoblot in the western blot forum discussion board. Ask Questions about transfers, blocking, membrane antibody incubation and exposures.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2013, 07:54 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 189, Level: 3 Points: 189, Level: 3 Points: 189, Level: 3
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default Slant, inconsistent marker bands in Western blot

Hi !

I am studying HeLa cell lysates. I determined the concentration by Bradford assay. I prepared the SDS-PAGE stacking (5%) gel and the separating gel (10%), ran the gel with Cruz molecular weight marker and 50mcg of my lysate sample at 18mA constant current and a voltage of 500V.
Next, I setup the transfer in Tris-glycine-methanol buffer for overnight at 25V constant voltage and 500mA current.
The next day I performed the blocking step with 5% casein TBS-T for 1.5hours at room temperature and next added my primary antibody [eIF4G(A-10)] at 1:1000 dilution in 5% casein TBS-T, left it overnight at 4C. NExt, washed it for 4X15min and added secondary antibody (rabbit antimouse IgG-HRP antibody in 1:2000 dilution), left it for 1.5 hours at room temperature.
I performed the detection with supersignal western pico substrate and observed the blot in UVP.

The problem is, the marker bands are slant and not so perfect and unable to see the sixth band. Also, I am unable to find my sample band.