Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Protein Science > Western Blot Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Western Blot Forum Discuss western blotting and immunoblot in the western blot forum discussion board. Ask Questions about transfers, blocking, membrane antibody incubation and exposures.

Transfer problems-smeared blot

Transfer problems-smeared blot - Western Blot Forum

Transfer problems-smeared blot - Discuss western blotting and immunoblot in the western blot forum discussion board. Ask Questions about transfers, blocking, membrane antibody incubation and exposures.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2011, 07:11 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 52, Level: 1 Points: 52, Level: 1 Points: 52, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Unhappy Transfer problems-smeared blot

Hi,

I am new in western blotting, and have been experiencing some difficulties in transferring. After I ran the gel, the ladders are straight and everything seems normal. However, everytime I use second time transfer buffer to transfer, my resulting blot shows that the ladder in the middle of the blot is always smeared and even disappears on the top. However, whenever I use first time transfer buffer, there are no smears.

My supervisor says they have been experiencing this problem whenever they use second time transfer buffer for over half a year now and would like me to find a solution. (Half a year ago, they never had problems when reusing the transfer buffer solutions even up to 4 times, but they dont know what caused this difference)

There could be something wrong with the transfer buffer recipe, or our techniques.

So here are some details:

10x Transfer buffer recipe (4L):

12.12g Tris
58.40g Glycine (I found online that usually you should add 57.6g of glycine for concentration of 14.4g/L, but I dont think such a small difference would cause the transferring problem)