Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Protein Science > Western Blot Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Western Blot Forum Discuss western blotting and immunoblot in the western blot forum discussion board. Ask Questions about transfers, blocking, membrane antibody incubation and exposures.


equal loading on western blot?

equal loading on western blot? - Western Blot Forum

equal loading on western blot? - Discuss western blotting and immunoblot in the western blot forum discussion board. Ask Questions about transfers, blocking, membrane antibody incubation and exposures.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2009, 01:49 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 1,047, Level: 18 Points: 1,047, Level: 18 Points: 1,047, Level: 18
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default equal loading on western blot?



Hi everyone,
I need to load equal amounts of protein on all lanes of my gel - I have been performing a Bradford and just calculating the amount to load (so each lane has a different amount of sample - but the same amount of protein). Is this ok? Or do I need to adjust my samples so that they have the same amount of protein and then load the same amount of sample (like 10ul?). If this makes any sense...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2009, 03:40 PM
Allison M's Avatar
Pipette Filler
Points: 369, Level: 7 Points: 369, Level: 7 Points: 369, Level: 7
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: equal loading on western blot?

I would think that it'd be preferable to adjust each sample so you are loading the same mass AND the same volume of protein in each lane. For one thing, assuming your loading buffer has reductant (usu. BME) in it, you'd have the same ratio of protein to reductant in each lane. I can't back this up with any data, but it seems prudent, and a minimal amount of work.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Allison M For This Useful Post:
admin (01-16-2009)
  #3  
Old 06-16-2009, 02:46 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: equal loading on western blot?

I am new to bichem methods. can someone explain how much SDS should be used for cell pellet.
I am using 100ul of 2x sds sample buffer 900+100ul DTT. load 30ul, but i dont get even bands on GAPDH.
is there a 1x recipe.

blilly
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2009, 03:52 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: equal loading on western blot?

I am new to bichem methods. can someone explain how much SDS should be used for cell pellet.
I am using 100ul of 2x sds sample buffer 900+100ul DTT. load 30ul, but i dont get even bands on GAPDH.
is there a 1x recipe.

blilly
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2009, 10:28 AM
Anastasia_S's Avatar
Summer Student
Points: 326, Level: 6 Points: 326, Level: 6 Points: 326, Level: 6
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 70
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default Re: equal loading on western blot?

here is what I do:
collect samples, store at -80
on the day of SDS-PAGE, I defrost the aliquotes for protein assay and do the assay (note-all diff conc.)
then i do my calculations on how much volume of each sample I need to give me a bit more protein than I'm going to load in a well (say I load 15ug, so I take volume tat gives me 20)
then I add ice cold (from freezer) acetone at approx x10 the volume, spin at 13000rpm for 10 min at 4C (this is to precipitate protein, and separate some of the crap that dissolves in acetone)
the I aspirate or pour off the acetone and let prot. pellets dry (if you leave acetone, stuff will float and not sink into the well)
than add my cracker buffer (1% SDS and other stuff including B-mercaptoethanol and bromophenol blue) and resuspend pellet. Amount added will depend on the amount of protein in the pellet, so that I have between 0.5 and 1 ug prot per uL cracker buffer.
Then I denature proteins at 95C for 3 min
And load into the wells. Now, I have prepared more solution more than I'm actually loading so that I don't have to scrape every drop out of the tube to make it even loading. This way I get the same amount of protein and same volume into each well.
I think if you have too much protein per uL SDS, it may not coat the protein properly hence running time will be wrong. Having said that, I had a few mistakes when I miscalculated and had x50 the amount of protein per uL of cracker buffer and although the gel looked totally overloaded, all bands were in the correct places.

Hope this helps
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Anastasia_S For This Useful Post:
admin (06-30-2009)
  #6  
Old 06-17-2009, 01:07 PM
Allison M's Avatar
Pipette Filler
Points: 369, Level: 7 Points: 369, Level: 7 Points: 369, Level: 7
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: equal loading on western blot?

Quote:
Now, I have prepared more solution more than I'm actually loading so that I don't have to scrape every drop out of the tube to make it even loading. This way I get the same amount of protein and same volume into each well.
I do this too, and it also gives me extra for a do-over if needed...

I've recently noticed that gel loading tips are not as reliable as regular tips (p10 in this case) for loading equal volumes, has anyone else noticed this? I think the super thin tip causes significant variation due to capillary action. Grr argh.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Allison M For This Useful Post:
admin (06-30-2009)
  #7  
Old 07-10-2009, 04:12 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: equal loading on western blot?

how do i calculate the amount of lamelli for samples

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-11-2009, 05:51 AM
Anastasia_S's Avatar
Summer Student
Points: 326, Level: 6 Points: 326, Level: 6 Points: 326, Level: 6
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 70
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default Re: equal loading on western blot?

I noticed that the thin tips sometimes give variable loading, but I haven't connected it with the tip itself, thought it was my pipetting! A very good point, thanks, Allison M!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blot , equal , loading , western


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western blot secreted protein control alphabetty Western Blot Forum 4 02-20-2011 01:33 PM
Western Blot Background Troubleshooting molecule2005 Western Blot Forum 18 10-07-2010 11:49 AM
dot blot and western blot Liang Western Blot Forum 1 08-07-2009 03:26 PM
GADPH Loading Control Western Blot Problem jrscientist Western Blot Forum 3 08-04-2009 06:00 PM
No Bands on Western Blot clokke76 Western Blot Forum 2 08-27-2007 04:26 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Molecular Station | All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16246 seconds with 16 queries