Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Basic Lab Protocols and Techniques > SDS-PAGE Gel Electrophoresis Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

SDS-PAGE Gel Electrophoresis Forum SDS-PAGE Forum and Gel Electrophoresis Forum. Discuss the running of agarose gels, sds-page gels, and other gels including sequencing, gradient or tricine.


Wide Bands Trouble

Wide Bands Trouble - SDS-PAGE Gel Electrophoresis Forum

Wide Bands Trouble - SDS-PAGE Forum and Gel Electrophoresis Forum. Discuss the running of agarose gels, sds-page gels, and other gels including sequencing, gradient or tricine.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2008, 01:04 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 374, Level: 7 Points: 374, Level: 7 Points: 374, Level: 7
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Wide Bands Trouble



Hi, I am having problems after runnning an electroforesis I get really wide bands, compared to the rest in the same gel.

To somewhat illustrate what happens, I load and run my gel and after doing the western we have to quantify the size of the bands to analyse the amount of protein loaded. Most bands come out to a size of 1mm (for example) and then there would be one or two that come out at 1.5mm. The DR says that this is not good for quantifying because they all should be the same or very similar in size.

Now, I know that I don't press too hard on the gel and I am following the protocol exactly, but it still happens. Is it that I am just still pressing too hard? I would appreaciate any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2008, 07:32 PM
Volunteer
Points: 515, Level: 10 Points: 515, Level: 10 Points: 515, Level: 10
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NC Illinois
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Wide Bands Trouble

Since this is a Western, it's very likely that you are getting very high signal which is easy to fix by taking a shorter exposure, or loading less sample, or using using less antibody, or using a substrate that is not as sensitive.

High signal will cause saturation of film or CCD imager causing you get a plateau effect at high signal rather than the linear response you need for quantification.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2008, 04:15 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 731, Level: 14 Points: 731, Level: 14 Points: 731, Level: 14
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Wide Bands Trouble

Yes, you can try to run serial dilutions of your sample (half as much in the next lane as in the previous lane) to see how much sample gives the best signal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bands , electrophoresis , precast gels , proteins , trouble , wide


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to avoid Nonspecific bands on multiplex PCR? Maddy PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum 3 02-24-2010 09:28 AM
missing bands and ghost bands Manuel Gadin Protocols and Methods Forum 2 09-30-2008 02:12 PM
Increase Exposure, Bands Disappear?? Mediatorx Western Blot Forum 3 07-01-2008 09:18 PM
Help Migrating bands camherst Western Blot Forum 1 01-26-2008 02:48 PM
Artifactual double bands Natalia Oliveira Protocols and Methods Forum 1 09-08-2007 11:28 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Molecular Station | All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.12271 seconds with 16 queries