Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > General Forum > Science Careers
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Science Careers Science Job Forum. Discuss science and laboratory based careers. Includes Lab managers, technicians, post doctoral positions, faculty positions, salaray, applications and training.

Working before entering PhD program?

Working before entering PhD program? - Science Careers

Working before entering PhD program? - Science Job Forum. Discuss science and laboratory based careers. Includes Lab managers, technicians, post doctoral positions, faculty positions, salaray, applications and training.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2009, 06:09 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 615, Level: 12 Points: 615, Level: 12 Points: 615, Level: 12
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default Working before entering PhD program?

I'm currently a molecular biology BS student at UCR. I plan on interning at Isis Pharmaceuticals during the summer. Should I work for them as a research associate for a few (1-3) years, to build my resume, gain research experience and skills, and gain valuable industry contacts, and then apply to a PhD program, or just apply to a PhD program right after graduation?

I'm really interested in antisense/RNAi, directed evolution, and immunology. What PhD program should I apply to, and what lab do you recommend?

I hope to work in industry R&D, perhaps at Isis Pharmaceuticals, Genentech, or Roche.

If I invented a novel enzyme or antisense oligonucleotide during my PhD research, could I patent it and use it as a bargaining chip during job interviews?

Thanks
Old 10-20-2009, 02:09 PM
Post-Doc
Points: 2,383, Level: 31 Points: 2,383, Level: 31 Points: 2,383, Level: 31

Default Re: Working before entering PhD program?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Protoman2050 View Post