Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum > Real-Time PCR and Quantitative PCR Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Real-Time PCR and Quantitative PCR Forum Real-Time PCR and Quantitative PCR Forum

qPCR Melt Curve Analysis/ primer specificity

qPCR Melt Curve Analysis/ primer specificity - Real-Time PCR and Quantitative PCR Forum

qPCR Melt Curve Analysis/ primer specificity - Real-Time PCR and Quantitative PCR Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2012, 07:01 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 26, Level: 1 Points: 26, Level: 1 Points: 26, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default qPCR Melt Curve Analysis/ primer specificity

As I am new to qPCR, I am running into a few issues that I don't know how to interpret. Here are my questions:

1.) Can a single primer set be used for multiple purposes? Ex: Can a primer set designed for detecting a gene's expression levels in siRNA transfected cells also be used to detect the gene's expression levels in other various non-transfected cells such as microglia, astrocytes, neurons, whole brain homoginates, as well as be used for genotyping?

Will a primer set designed to detect the effects of siRNA also be used to test the effects of shRNA transfected cells?

We are finding that our primers are working for some purposes, but not others. Ex: A primer works for detecting shRNA but not siRNA in transfected HT22 cells. The same primer set doesn't detect shRNA or siRNA in transfected B65 cells. Is this common? Or are we doing something wrong? Even our transfected controls are not amplifying for these samples. Additionally, I know that the primer set is working because I tested the primer on non transfected microglia cells at the same time on the same plate and the results were exactly as expected.