Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Protocols and Methods Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Protocols and Methods Forum Post Any Protocol, Method, Technique, Procedure or Tips / Troubleshooting for any Molecular Biology Technique.

autofluorescence

autofluorescence - Protocols and Methods Forum

autofluorescence - Post Any Protocol, Method, Technique, Procedure or Tips / Troubleshooting for any Molecular Biology Technique.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2009, 09:44 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 24, Level: 1 Points: 24, Level: 1 Points: 24, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default autofluorescence

hello everybody
I'm doing a PhD in horse virology and it is more than 4 months that I can not develop an efficient protocol for Immunofluorescence of infected PBMC cells
I am using a monoclonal antibody that binds to a nucleocapsid protein. This product is available on the market
my problem is that this mAb binds aspecifically neutrophils (you can identify them for the morphology of the nucleus ... the really strange thing is that using an irrelevant isotype autofluorescence does not develop!
I tried to use a protocol to limit autofluorescence but was not successful
I do not know what to do, time passes and I always stop at the same point

I hope you can help

thanks
Old 11-11-2009, 02:29 PM
Post-Doc
Points: 2,383, Level: 31 Points: 2,383, Level: 31 Points: 2,383, Level: 31
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default Re: autofluorescence

Are you purifying the PBMC's? If not you may want to do so in order to avoid contamination. Neutrophils have a large number of Fc receptors, and those may be binding your antibody. Alternatively, the antibody may be recognising an unrelated epitope on the neutrophils.

There are a couple of options: