Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Protocols and Methods Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Protocols and Methods Forum Post Any Protocol, Method, Technique, Procedure or Tips / Troubleshooting for any Molecular Biology Technique.

Magnetic Bead Cleanup of BigDye Terminator Reactions

Magnetic Bead Cleanup of BigDye Terminator Reactions - Protocols and Methods Forum

Magnetic Bead Cleanup of BigDye Terminator Reactions - Post Any Protocol, Method, Technique, Procedure or Tips / Troubleshooting for any Molecular Biology Technique.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2004, 01:42 PM
MICHAEL L SULLIVAN

Default Magnetic Bead Cleanup of BigDye Terminator Reactions

Mick,

I have been using Agencourts CleanSEQ product for a few years now, after our sequencing facility reccommended it for clean up of BigDye sequencing reactions prior to running on their ABI capillary sequencors. I've been pretty pleased with the product. We pretty routinely get back >800 bases of good quality sequence.

One thing to note, though. The Agencourt protocol calls for letting the beads dry following the last wash and prior to resuspension. This actually has a negative impact on sequence quality (big dye blobs at about 100 bp), and our sequencing facility has advised us to go directly to resuspension in water following the wash. I believe Agencourt confirmed to our facility that indeed this is the way it should be done, but I haven't seen that they've made that change in the protocol.