Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Protein Science > Protein Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Protein Forum Protein Forum

SDS page and affinity chromatography

SDS page and affinity chromatography - Protein Forum

SDS page and affinity chromatography - Protein Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2009, 12:04 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default SDS page and affinity chromatography

Hi! I'm an undergrad student doing a course in Protein Sciences.

I have a question.. so I've just done a lab.. and it involved purifying a protein in a affinity chromatography column then measuring absorbances of 5 of the first fractions collected. Then, the fractions were run on an SDS page. The fraction according to a standard curve made with the highest concentration of protein of interest in it was fraction 4.

However this had the SMALLEST band on the SDS Page, and Fractions 1-3 had much thicker bands... why could this be? Is this something to do with impurities perhaps in the first 1-3 fractions?!
ANy advice would be much appreciated!
Old 06-16-2009, 12:18 AM
Volunteer
Points: 1,303, Level: 21 Points: 1,303, Level: 21 Points: 1,303, Level: 21

Default Re: SDS page and affinity chromatography

Hello,

There are a couple of questions that need answering.

1 How are you measuring the protein concentration? Is this absorbance at
280 nm, or are you doing a specific protein assay such as the Lowry method?

2. What are you eluting with? Could this compound be absorbing at 280 nm, giving spurious high estimates of the protein content? Alternatively, could the eluting agent be interfering with the specific protein assay such as the Lowry method. As you probably know, a lot of substances interfere with the Lowry assay!