Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum. Discuss and ask questions about PCR troubleshooting, PCR protocols and methods, PCR products, and PCR theory.

Problems with PCR-no bands

Problems with PCR-no bands - PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum

Problems with PCR-no bands - PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum. Discuss and ask questions about PCR troubleshooting, PCR protocols and methods, PCR products, and PCR theory.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2010, 01:07 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default Problems with PCR-no bands

Hiya,

I am new to this forum and also new to PCR, I am a student at uni studying molecular parasitology.
I have only done PCR once before and I was handed a working protocol and genomic DNA and all reagents. No thought required!

This time however I have been flung in the deep end with my project and I have very little help.

I am trying to amplify the BoLA DRB3 gene. I have extracted DNA from lung tissue and when I spec it the conc. is approx 2000ng/ul for all of my samples (200).

I made the following master mix for my PCR (based on previous PCRs)

14ul H2O
2ul 10x buffer
0.5ul each primer (100ng/ul)
2ul dNTPs (10mM)
1ul MgCl2 (25mM)
0.2ul Taq

1ul DNA (used varying concentrations after realising that the 1st time my conc was probably too high, used 2000ng/ul then I tried again with a 1:50,1:100 and 1:200 dilution)

Total volume was 20ul (19ul master mix and 1ul DNA)

PCR program was as follows:

94 2 mins, 94 30 sec-57 30 sec-72 1 min (30 cycles), 72 3 mins.

the TM of my primers are: forward 63.3 and reverse 62.

Size of fragment expected 281bp