Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum. Discuss and ask questions about PCR troubleshooting, PCR protocols and methods, PCR products, and PCR theory.

Rapid Amplification of cDNA Ends question?

Rapid Amplification of cDNA Ends question? - PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum

Rapid Amplification of cDNA Ends question? - PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum. Discuss and ask questions about PCR troubleshooting, PCR protocols and methods, PCR products, and PCR theory.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2010, 12:38 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 520, Level: 10 Points: 520, Level: 10 Points: 520, Level: 10
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default Rapid Amplification of cDNA Ends question?

Hi, I am new to pcr and i need some explaination on it..
In 5' RACE, after the production of 1st strand cDNA using gene-specific-primer 1 and addition of polyT tail, another gsp 2 is used together with anchor primer to amplify that cDNA. My question is, why don't we use gsp1 for amplification instead of gsp2?
2nd is, if gsp1 & 2 are parts of known sequence (designated as X) which i obtain from 3'RACE, will X have overlapping sequence with cDNA obtain from 5'RACE? If yes, can i assume that the overlapping sequence is the sequence of gsp2+a few nucleotide, since i get gsp1 from X?
3rd, can i directly use cDNA generated from 3'RACE as primer for 5'RACE, instead of using some part of it to design gsp1? If not, y?
Old 02-14-2010, 10:47 AM
Graduate Student
Points: 3,129, Level: 36 Points: 3,129, Level: 36 Points: 3,129, Level: 36

Default Re: Rapid Amplification of cDNA Ends question?

Hi,

Your post is a little bit unclear, but here are my replies:

1. On why you use a GSP 2 after an amplification.