Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum. Discuss and ask questions about PCR troubleshooting, PCR protocols and methods, PCR products, and PCR theory.

Primer Dimers

Primer Dimers - PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum

Primer Dimers - PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum. Discuss and ask questions about PCR troubleshooting, PCR protocols and methods, PCR products, and PCR theory.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2009, 05:42 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 150, Level: 2 Points: 150, Level: 2 Points: 150, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default Primer Dimers

Hi!

I am pretty new to molecular biology so please forgive any gaffes. I am looking at the chloroplast trnL intron, chloroplast rbcL-accD intergenic spacer and rDNA ITS (ITS1 +5.8S + ITS2) in a wild buckwheat.

The primers I am using are all universal plant primers and have been used in a closely related genus (as well a at least one species in my genus). The Tm of each primer is between 62 and 55 although they have been calculated at 55 to 52 on various websites. I am also using the Sigma Aldrich REDExtract-n-Amp Plant PCR kit. It is supposed to be idiot-proof. However, I am getting primer clouds (dimers?). Oddly enough, I was not getting them with my first kit. They started to appear with the second and, interestingly, they initially appeared as very faint bands that got brighter and brighter with each reaction.