Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Molecular Biology Techniques > Molecular Cloning Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Molecular Cloning Forum DNA cloning forum. Discuss the cloning of plasmids, vectors, DNA, RNA, cDNA, proteins, and other molecules for expression, sub-cloning, and other methods. Also discuss digestion, ligation, transformation, plasmid preparation, cDNA library screening, and competent cells here.


Insert crashing ligation?

Insert crashing ligation? - Molecular Cloning Forum

Insert crashing ligation? - DNA cloning forum. Discuss the cloning of plasmids, vectors, DNA, RNA, cDNA, proteins, and other molecules for expression, sub-cloning, and other methods. Also discuss digestion, ligation, transformation, plasmid preparation, cDNA library screening, and competent cells here.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2008, 01:09 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 353, Level: 7 Points: 353, Level: 7 Points: 353, Level: 7
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Insert crashing ligation?



Hi - I'm setting up (3) ligations. Vector only, + 1x insert, + 2x insert. I get colonies on my background transformation but nothing on my insert plates. I would expect at least the same number of colonies on all plates even if the cloning failed since the vector input is the same......HELP!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2008, 06:26 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 731, Level: 14 Points: 731, Level: 14 Points: 731, Level: 14
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Insert crashing ligation?

Maybe your vector is ligating back onto itself, especially in the absence of an insert, which is causing the colonies to be present. Perhaps you could try 3x insert and 1x vector. Here are also some more [Only registered users see links. ].
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2009, 04:05 PM
Pipette Filler
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Insert crashing ligation?

I am having a similar problem and discovered that my vector is not being completely digested. I can only detect it when I transform I cut and phosphatased vector sample that was not treated with ligase. I get as many colonies on those plates as my ligase treated samples. I have increased the units of restriction enzyme (SphI) and the length of incubation with no improvement. Any suggestions?

I have used as much as a 1:10 (vector:insert) ratio successfully for my ligations. I would no try lower than 1:3. You can also treat your vector with a phosphatase to prevent self-ligation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crashing , insert , ligation


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very high insert to vector ratio during ligation. jerseysurfer66 Molecular Cloning Forum 0 03-25-2009 07:38 PM
Ligation Deitiker, Philip R Protocols and Methods Forum 1 06-28-2007 12:40 PM
Ligation Deitiker, Philip R Protocols and Methods Forum 0 06-21-2007 11:11 PM
Ligation Deitiker, Philip R Protocols and Methods Forum 0 06-21-2007 09:12 PM
Ligation or transformation problem Jayakumar, R Protocols and Methods Forum 0 06-27-2006 07:20 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Molecular Station | All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.12360 seconds with 16 queries