Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Molecular Biology Techniques
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Molecular Biology Techniques Molecular Biology Forum. Includes forums for common molecular biology techniques.

PCR and Gene cloning

PCR and Gene cloning - Molecular Biology Techniques

PCR and Gene cloning - Molecular Biology Forum. Includes forums for common molecular biology techniques.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2009, 05:11 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 108, Level: 2 Points: 108, Level: 2 Points: 108, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default PCR and Gene cloning

Hello I'm just starting to learn molecular biology. I hope someone out there able to explain the difference between gene cloning with plasmid and Polymerase chain reaction (PCR). Are they have the similar function (to amplify the DNA fragments) but work at different way? Thank you.

Regards,
Foo
Old 05-16-2009, 06:39 AM
Nobel Laureate

Default Re: PCR and Gene cloning

Hi
yes, both ways are used to amplify desired gene or DNA Fragement. but there is difference in application as by PCR DNA is amplified to analyze it but by plasmid cloning, DNA is stored for long time, analyzed and also used for expression in experiments. these are main difference, although there are planty of other differences.

regards
aftab
The Following User Says Thank You to aftabac For This Useful Post:
FFK (05-16-2009)
Old 05-16-2009, 07:53 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 108, Level: 2 Points: 108, Level: 2 Points: 108, Level: 2

Thank you for sharing =). Neway, I've one more question here. Can we say microsatellite is the primer uses in PCR complementary with the known sequences? Thank you

Regards,
Foo
Old 05-16-2009, 05:21 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 44, Level: 1 Points: 44, Level: 1 Points: 44, Level: 1