Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Animal and Molecular Model Systems > Microbiology Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Microbiology Forum Discuss Microbiology Science and Protocols here. Post questions on the study of viruses, fungi, parasites and bacteria here. Microbiology Forum.

Where to do graduate studies?

Where to do graduate studies? - Microbiology Forum

Where to do graduate studies? - Discuss Microbiology Science and Protocols here. Post questions on the study of viruses, fungi, parasites and bacteria here. Microbiology Forum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2010, 02:46 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 62, Level: 1 Points: 62, Level: 1 Points: 62, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default Where to do graduate studies?

Hello there, I'm completely new to this forum, I joined because I need some help about graduate studies.

I'm in my 4th year of completing a 4 year micro honors degree at the University of Manitoba, and I'm looking for places to do my graduate studies seeing as how the graduate program at the UofM isn't too strong. I have a good GPA, 4.10 and am applying for scholarships. I also have some prof's to talk to but they told me to do some digging around for some potential universities.

First off, I have no idea where to start. I dont know which schools have good micro/science/research programs. I'm interested in either virology or studying antibiotic resistance. One helpful prof told me to narrow it down to 10 schools I would like to go to and find some prof's there whose research I find interesting. He said the best schools for grad studies in micro would be: Harvard, Oxford, Scripps
followed by tier 2 universities like: Mcgill, UBC, U of Toronto etc.

Bottom line is I need just a starting point on which schools are good in Canada and U.S and about the whole application procedure.

Thanks.
Old 09-20-2010, 04:58 AM