Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Histology Forum > Immunohistochemistry Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Immunohistochemistry Forum Immunohistochemistry Forum. Post and discuss questions on immunohistochemistry methods including paraffin, frozen, or free floating tissue sections.

thick slice IHC help!!!

thick slice IHC help!!! - Immunohistochemistry Forum

thick slice IHC help!!! - Immunohistochemistry Forum. Post and discuss questions on immunohistochemistry methods including paraffin, frozen, or free floating tissue sections.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2010, 05:44 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 36, Level: 1 Points: 36, Level: 1 Points: 36, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Exclamation thick slice IHC help!!!

hey,
i'm a summer student and the project I was given was to optimize the immunohistochemistry in my lab. BUT I'M NOT GETTING ANYTHING TO WORK!! I've been told it always worked before....So I was wondering if anyone has any ideas or protocols that work? I'd really appreciate any help I can get!
Here's the protocol I'm using:
our slices are 250-300 um thick.
1) I leave them in formalin for 2 days for the fixative step.
2) Wash slices 3X (15 min each) in PBS-T (PBS with 0.3% tritonX100 to help permeabilize my slices since they're thick)
3) Blocking step for 1/2 hr with 2%normal horse serum in PBS-T
4) Incubate in 1o antibody at 1:1000 in PBS-T + 2%normal horse serum for 72 hrs at 4C with shaking
5) Wash slices 5X in PBS-T
6) Blocking step for 1/2 hr with 2%normal horse serum in PBS-T
7) Incubate at room temp with 2o antibody at 1:500 +2%normal horse serum in PBS-T for 2hrs with shaking and kept in the dark
8 ) Wash 5X (1/2 hr each) in PBS before mounting
Old 07-23-2010, 06:21 PM
Post-Doc
Points: 2,383, Level: 31 Points: 2,383, Level: 31 Points: 2,383, Level: 31

Default Re: thick slice IHC help!!!