Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > DNA Techniques
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

DNA Techniques Post questions and discuss DNA techniques and protocols such as DNA extraction, PCR, and the study of DNA-binding proteins.


(LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

(LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification - DNA Techniques

(LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification - Post questions and discuss DNA techniques and protocols such as DNA extraction, PCR, and the study of DNA-binding proteins.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71  
Old 10-26-2012, 03:48 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Hey, this effect is due to dNTP and / or Magnesium concentration. You should adjust both.

Someone new hints for false positive? Primer or contamination?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jlamp For This Useful Post:
admin (02-24-2013)
  #72  
Old 12-09-2012, 09:09 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 677, Level: 13 Points: 677, Level: 13 Points: 677, Level: 13
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Dear friends,

I'm working on LAMP for the past few months. I have few hints to solve your false positive problems.

1. NEVER use same pippetor to make master mix and to load LAMP product in agarose gel.

2. Check the position of your primers in the target gene. If your F3 and F2 primers are side by side or too near, it might results false positive. Make sure there is some distance between F3 and F2 primers. Check out some journals for the illustration of the primers position.

3. If you designed more than 1 set of primers, you can mix match your primers as suggested by someone in this thread to avoid false positive. When mix matching make sure there is some distance between each primer.

Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to aahu For This Useful Post:
admin (02-24-2013)
  #73  
Old 02-10-2013, 12:59 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 224, Level: 4 Points: 224, Level: 4 Points: 224, Level: 4
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Dear friends,
I have a question, does any body know what is wrong with making mgso4 solution to the concentration that we need insteead of buying prepared mgso4 solution. If I order mgso4 powder and make the solution myself does it cause any problem?
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 02-23-2013, 05:10 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 224, Level: 4 Points: 224, Level: 4 Points: 224, Level: 4
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

any idea?!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 02-24-2013, 07:07 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 1,309, Level: 21 Points: 1,309, Level: 21 Points: 1,309, Level: 21
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Hey!
there is nothing inherently wrong with doing this but precaution must be taken to measure correctly using the correct math and to be sure to use uncontaminated water
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sittingchair For This Useful Post:
nikan (02-24-2013)
  #76  
Old 02-24-2013, 05:31 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 224, Level: 4 Points: 224, Level: 4 Points: 224, Level: 4
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Smile Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Quote:
Originally Posted by sittingchair View Post
Hey!
there is nothing inherently wrong with doing this but precaution must be taken to measure correctly using the correct math and to be sure to use uncontaminated water


I made it with double distilled water in sterile condition and then autoclaved it. I used the correct volum of powder and water.
I hope nothing is wrong with it.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 02-25-2013, 04:06 AM
butters's Avatar
M.D/Ph.D
Points: 4,938, Level: 47 Points: 4,938, Level: 47 Points: 4,938, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 315
Thanks: 25
Thanked 68 Times in 63 Posts
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Generally its ok, just make sure your chemical is at least molecular grade.

If you are not careful you may introduce foreign DNA or degrade DNA.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 02-25-2013, 01:03 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 224, Level: 4 Points: 224, Level: 4 Points: 224, Level: 4
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Quote:
Originally Posted by butters View Post
Generally its ok, just make sure your chemical is at least molecular grade.

If you are not careful you may introduce foreign DNA or degrade DNA.


I used Magnesium sulfate heptahydrate that is for analysis.
It seems that I'm going to do a wrong job. What's your idea? What is the difference between molecular level mgso4 and this one?
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 02-27-2013, 01:40 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 1,309, Level: 21 Points: 1,309, Level: 21 Points: 1,309, Level: 21
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

As far I know, there is no problem with using this reagent. You will need to account for additional molecular weight of the 7H2O when doing your calculations, however.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 02-27-2013, 09:05 AM
butters's Avatar
M.D/Ph.D
Points: 4,938, Level: 47 Points: 4,938, Level: 47 Points: 4,938, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 315
Thanks: 25
Thanked 68 Times in 63 Posts
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Molecular grade chemicals have not nuclease or rnase activity detected. Other chemical that have these activities may break you DNA and causes some problem.

By all mean you want to go ahead with it since you have prepare the solution. If you have the MgSO4 that come together with your Taq, then you can do a comparison. Maybe it will work for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amplificaion , amplification , dna , isothermal , lamp , loopmediated , primer design , problems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Isothermal mRNA amplification on solid state? ttrndy RNA Techniques Forum 0 03-07-2011 06:15 AM
Problems with amplification of bisulfite converted DNA Chromatin-girl Epigenetics Forum: DNA Methylation, Histone and Chromatin Study 0 07-01-2010 06:08 PM
PFU PCR Amplification Problems admin PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum 1 07-12-2007 11:18 AM
2 hybrid library amplification and plasmid isolation problems Gregory Finnigan Yeast Forum 0 08-17-2005 05:04 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Molecular Station | All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16680 seconds with 16 queries