Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > DNA Techniques
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

DNA Techniques Post questions and discuss DNA techniques and protocols such as DNA extraction, PCR, and the study of DNA-binding proteins.


(LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

(LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification - DNA Techniques

(LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification - Post questions and discuss DNA techniques and protocols such as DNA extraction, PCR, and the study of DNA-binding proteins.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 05-17-2012, 07:57 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 58, Level: 1 Points: 58, Level: 1 Points: 58, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: India
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Thanks for starting this topic. I received good info & useful as well from here. It is good to be part of this community.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 05-31-2012, 11:41 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 32, Level: 1 Points: 32, Level: 1 Points: 32, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: England
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Bst DNA Polymerase at 8U for the rxn, or 0.32U/uL

BST Has NO RT activity, you have to use a seperate RT enzyme, problem seems to be that the amount needed vary's upon each assay, sorry you have to do a titration and find out what level suits that assay, 0.2 Units upto 2.5 units RT enzyme per reaction.
AMV Reverse Transcriptase from Invitrogen works well in my hands, I saw an ad for optigene was quoting their kit has RT activity, yet to try it tho!
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 06-01-2012, 06:40 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 627, Level: 12 Points: 627, Level: 12 Points: 627, Level: 12
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Hey,

in my case i found that the combination of reaction temperature with the primers was not optimal. Here I had to increase the temperature above the "optimal" of Bst-Pol. At the moment my primers are working and NTC is correct. But now my Calcein-Detection is not working...i use less primers and dNTPs as standard LAMP. To distinguish POS and NTC i use SybrGreen.
The False-POS in my case were due to non-specific amplification of inner primers (FIP/BIP)
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 06-05-2012, 08:33 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Hi, new person here.

I've just started working with an LA-500 LAMP device, and I'm the first person to use it in my lab. I'm a first year co-op student, so naturally the first assumption we're all making is that I've been sloppy with changing pipette tips and such, but as time passes that's looking less like a possibility.

We ran into some early issues where all results were coming out negative. This turned out to be an issue with insufficient vortexing of the buffer (we're using pre-mixed Thermopol Reaction Buffer from Lucigen), resulting in poor function of the Bst Pol. So, we fixed that problem.

Then I started getting false positives. After about a week and a half, we put aside the primers we had been using (for eae and stx2 genes) and started fresh with stx1 primers and all new reagents. At the same time, I began preparing master mix in a BSC, and aliquoting it and template into reaction tubes in a separate laminar flow hood used on for that purpose.

That was working great for about 3-4 days, then random false positives started popping up again. At this point we're back to full on contamination.

JMCK and jensf's advice makes a lot of sense to me. In the confusion, I've been checking my LAMP product on gels, and then putting those tubes back in the same -20 freezer as my reagents. Since I'm being so careful to prepare everything in hoods, douse everything in DNA-Away and make sure I'm not just mixing template into my sterile water, contamination of the reagents in this manner seems like one of the only options.

Aside from that, when it works, it works well.

Any other ideas about what could be wrong here?
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 07-09-2012, 01:10 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 22, Level: 1 Points: 22, Level: 1 Points: 22, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Quote:
Originally Posted by jensf View Post
Hey,

in my case i found that the combination of reaction temperature with the primers was not optimal. Here I had to increase the temperature above the "optimal" of Bst-Pol. At the moment my primers are working and NTC is correct. But now my Calcein-Detection is not working...i use less primers and dNTPs as standard LAMP. To distinguish POS and NTC i use SybrGreen.
The False-POS in my case were due to non-specific amplification of inner primers (FIP/BIP)
What temp and concentrations are you working at
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biogal For This Useful Post:
admin (02-24-2013)
  #66  
Old 07-31-2012, 03:42 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 62, Level: 1 Points: 62, Level: 1 Points: 62, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

hello! i'm a PHd student trying to set up a lamp protocol for T. gondii...one very basic question what's the difference between the Bst polymerase full lenght and bst polymerase large fragment?
which one is to be used in LAMP? thanks everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 09-03-2012, 02:53 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Hey i use normal concentrations, given in all papers...it's very hard to get rid of cross-over contamination and false-positive..I think this is most serious problem in LAMP. Someone has new results?
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 09-07-2012, 03:26 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 641, Level: 12 Points: 641, Level: 12 Points: 641, Level: 12
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Hello there!! I also working with LAMP with a bacteria in rice called B.glumae .We designed the primers with primer explorer v4 and Im using MnCl2 and calcein for fluorescent visualization.The problem is that my negative control(water with the reaction mixture) produce fluoresence.Do u have any good idea whats going on ?

thank u so much
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 09-25-2012, 12:15 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCaldera View Post
Hello there!! I also working with LAMP with a bacteria in rice called B.glumae .We designed the primers with primer explorer v4 and Im using MnCl2 and calcein for fluorescent visualization.The problem is that my negative control(water with the reaction mixture) produce fluoresence.Do u have any good idea whats going on ?

thank u so much

Hey, most time its due to cross-over contamination from last reaction, as decribed previously here...
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10-04-2012, 03:37 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 1,309, Level: 21 Points: 1,309, Level: 21 Points: 1,309, Level: 21
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: (LAMP) Problems with Loop-mediated isothermal amplification

Hello!

Also performing routine LAMP. However, I am using my own buffer (Tris-HCl pH8.8) and HNB for colorimetric visualization. The problem I am encountering now is that when I add the HNB to the master mix, it immediately turns to a sky blue (positive indicator). I have tried various concentrations (variations from .003mM to 120mM) but they all produce the same result.

Thanks a lot for any suggestions!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amplificaion , amplification , dna , isothermal , lamp , loopmediated , primer design , problems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Isothermal mRNA amplification on solid state? ttrndy RNA Techniques Forum 0 03-07-2011 06:15 AM
Problems with amplification of bisulfite converted DNA Chromatin-girl Epigenetics Forum: DNA Methylation, Histone and Chromatin Study 0 07-01-2010 06:08 PM
PFU PCR Amplification Problems admin PCR - Polymerase Chain Reaction Forum 1 07-12-2007 11:18 AM
2 hybrid library amplification and plasmid isolation problems Gregory Finnigan Yeast Forum 0 08-17-2005 05:04 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Molecular Station | All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.18583 seconds with 16 queries