Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > DNA Techniques
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

DNA Techniques Post questions and discuss DNA techniques and protocols such as DNA extraction, PCR, and the study of DNA-binding proteins.

Hello to All

Hello to All - DNA Techniques

Hello to All - Post questions and discuss DNA techniques and protocols such as DNA extraction, PCR, and the study of DNA-binding proteins.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2006, 01:55 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 1,887, Level: 26 Points: 1,887, Level: 26 Points: 1,887, Level: 26
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Question Hello to All

Dear All,

I am a graduate student doing Masters in Industrial Chemistry majoring in Biotechnology. Currently my work deals a lot with genetics. Plasmid isolation is what I am doing now. I have very little knowledege in this and therefore I have to catch up as soon as possible on the theoretical part of my work.

I have done the isolation of the plasmids and run the agarose gel electrophoresis. The first time was a total failure as even the DNA ladder was not showing anything under the UV illuminator.

The second trial was partly a success as the plasmid for pUC19 was visible on the gel without digestion. The result shown that it was about 1.5kb. However, according to the source, pUC19 was supposed to yield plasmids as big as 3.1kb. Why is it that I only obtained results at 1.5kb?

My strain did not show any plasmids at all. According to literature, the size should be about 23kb. I used Kady and Liu method for plasmid extraction. What could have happened?

Thanks.
Old 09-19-2006, 05:26 AM
Graduate Student
Points: 3,826, Level: 41 Points: 3,826, Level: 41 Points: 3,826, Level: 41

Default Re: Hello to All

Hey there hsip_15!