Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > DNA Techniques > cDNA Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

cDNA Forum cDNA Forum. Discuss complementary DNA synthesis, cDNA libraries, and cDNA cloning in this forum.


cDNA Sequence Exported?

cDNA Sequence Exported? - cDNA Forum

cDNA Sequence Exported? - cDNA Forum. Discuss complementary DNA synthesis, cDNA libraries, and cDNA cloning in this forum.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2008, 05:20 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 2,116, Level: 29 Points: 2,116, Level: 29 Points: 2,116, Level: 29
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question cDNA Sequence Exported?



Hi, if given the cDNA-deduced sequence, how do you know whether the protein is exported or domestic one???

Also how would I use hydropathy to locate the transmembrane domain And what would most likely be the mature sequence How would you figure that out? thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2008, 05:21 AM
kiki06's Avatar
Post-Doc
Points: 5,313, Level: 49 Points: 5,313, Level: 49 Points: 5,313, Level: 49
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 277
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: cDNA Sequence Exported?

Hello there,
you would first have to decode the codon.

Then you can find the name of the protein. After you find the protein, you can easily match it to its function and deduce where it is used.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2008, 05:22 AM
admin's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,418
Thanks: 883
Thanked 68 Times in 58 Posts
Default Re: cDNA Sequence Exported?

ExPASY is also the answer! ExPASY is a tool a lot of scientists use to do protein predictions (especially preliminary analysis) http://www.expasy.ch/tools/ First you'd have to take your cDNA sequence and put it into one of the translation tools (DNA -> Protein links from the ExPASY site above).

I like the "Translate" tool.

Once you have the protein sequence, copy and paste that sequence into one of the "Pattern and Profile" tools. I like Motif Scan. You can try the others too.

Alternately, you can use BLAST (under "Similarity Searches") to see if your protein is already identified and has clearcut domains already available in the databases.

Hope that's something of what you're looking for.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cdna , domain , exported , protein , sequence


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Human Cytome Project - Update 24 Jan. 2005 Peter Van Osta Cell Biology and Cell Culture 1 08-01-2010 02:18 PM
Translating cDNA Sequences into Protein Sequence? luisfigo cDNA Forum 3 07-27-2009 02:12 PM
Human Cytome Project - an idea - Update 19 April 2005 Peter Van Osta Cell Biology and Cell Culture 1 06-01-2009 02:17 PM
A Human Cytome Project - an idea - Update 14 March 2005 Peter Van Osta Cell Biology and Cell Culture 0 03-14-2005 02:27 PM
Human Cytome Project - Update 6 Jan. 2005 Peter Van Osta Cell Biology and Cell Culture 0 01-06-2005 11:18 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Molecular Station | All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.17463 seconds with 16 queries