Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > General Science Forums > Biology Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Biology Forum Biology Forums. Ask questions and discuss the study of Biology. If you have Biology questions from your homework ask them here!

Gene Expression as IF-THEN Rule Firing in a Production System Computer

Gene Expression as IF-THEN Rule Firing in a Production System Computer - Biology Forum

Gene Expression as IF-THEN Rule Firing in a Production System Computer - Biology Forums. Ask questions and discuss the study of Biology. If you have Biology questions from your homework ask them here!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2012, 08:38 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default Gene Expression as IF-THEN Rule Firing in a Production System Computer

I’m a computer scientist (and non-biologist) trying to out how to model basic gene expression as the operation of a “production system,” which is just an unordered set of IF-THEN rules, and am not sure how to model cis-regulatory modules (CRM’s) that may control more than one gene, and genes that may be controlled by more than one CRM.

---

Here’s the basic idea, based on the oversimplification that each gene has exactly one CRM controlling it.

Such a gene is exactly a "production"—an IF-THEN rule—in a "production system," which is just a set of such rules, which can interact. A genome is a such a set of rules, processed asynchronously and in parallel by default, by a "production system computer."