Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > General Science Forums > Biology Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Biology Forum Biology Forums. Ask questions and discuss the study of Biology. If you have Biology questions from your homework ask them here!


problem in running with 2x sample buffer

problem in running with 2x sample buffer - Biology Forum

problem in running with 2x sample buffer - Biology Forums. Ask questions and discuss the study of Biology. If you have Biology questions from your homework ask them here!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2012, 03:13 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default problem in running with 2x sample buffer



Hej,

I am using 2x sample buffer for running my lysates in SDS page. when i do so , I get a broad blue region below the BFB line (i.e below the sharp bromophenol bue indicator line). Further my BFB line is kind of thick instead of sharp.

Could any one face the same problem?? or any idea to overcome it

p.s my samples becomes very diluted when i go with 1x Sample buffer. also i hear the pH of resolving buffer and Sample buffer has some direct correlation.
recipe of SB is correct.

Help me out if you got any idea
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2012, 08:49 AM
butters's Avatar
M.D/Ph.D
Points: 4,801, Level: 47 Points: 4,801, Level: 47 Points: 4,801, Level: 47
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 314
Thanks: 25
Thanked 67 Times in 62 Posts
Default Re: problem in running with 2x sample buffer

Exactly what formula SB do you use?

Do you mean if you put same amount say 5uL of your lysate with 1X (diluted) or 2x(too thick) visible after staining?

Is it possible that you share with us the picture?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2012, 12:15 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2 Points: 102, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: problem in running with 2x sample buffer

Hej,

Thanks for bringing up to discussion.

The recipe of 2X SB is the same as we use normally. The pH is around 8. Similarly the pH of my resolving buffer is 8.3 and my stacking buffer is 6.8.
I have attached the image of the gel pic. If you see the pic, u ll find blue broad zone below the BFB line.. Can u figure out why that happens and any idea to rectify it????


P.S. I didnt have any gel pic to send immediately, so late response.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo.jpg (31.2 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
buffer , problem , running , sample , sample buffer , sds page


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SDS-PAGE Protocol moleculardude Protein Science 14 02-12-2010 11:27 AM
Tricine running buffer amessusa Western Blot Forum 1 09-02-2009 09:19 PM
Protein Agglutination after boiling with SDS sample buffer nafnaf SDS-PAGE Gel Electrophoresis Forum 2 07-15-2009 03:54 AM
Production of Monoclonal Antibodies - Technique in Mouse Cellbiogal Antibody Forum 2 01-08-2009 10:52 PM
Sample Buffer abelaksono Western Blot Forum 2 05-02-2008 10:07 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Molecular Station | All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.12977 seconds with 17 queries