Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > General Science Forums > Biology Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Biology Forum Biology Forums. Ask questions and discuss the study of Biology. If you have Biology questions from your homework ask them here!

Recognizing patterns in DNA sequences.

Recognizing patterns in DNA sequences. - Biology Forum

Recognizing patterns in DNA sequences. - Biology Forums. Ask questions and discuss the study of Biology. If you have Biology questions from your homework ask them here!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2010, 10:20 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default Recognizing patterns in DNA sequences.

Hi all,

I am a computer scientist please dont fame me if this question sounds too simple to you. I'm aware that there are many software out there which allows you to search for fragments of DNA within a strand of sequences. Why do we need them? And how can we use these result? For instance

T T G C G A A A

I wanna find the motif of AAA with 100% threshold, in this instance position 6 - 9 would be my match, normally after researcher has the result what will he do to it? send it to BLAST?

Hope somebody can help me, thanks!

cheers,
Sam
Old 11-03-2010, 09:07 PM
Pipette Filler
Points: 370, Level: 7 Points: 370, Level: 7 Points: 370, Level: 7

Default Re: Recognizing patterns in DNA sequences.