Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > General Science Forums > Biochemistry Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Biochemistry Forum Discuss and post questions regarding the study of Biochemistry. If you need homework help this is the place to ask!

Biochemistry Major Career Options?

Biochemistry Major Career Options? - Biochemistry Forum

Biochemistry Major Career Options? - Discuss and post questions regarding the study of Biochemistry. If you need homework help this is the place to ask!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2009, 02:17 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 6, Level: 1 Points: 6, Level: 1 Points: 6, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default Biochemistry Major Career Options?

I am a high school student. I am thinking about getting a B.S. in Biochemistry. If I get this, will a Bachelor's degree be enough education to get a job&career? Or will I need a Masters/PhD
Old 04-26-2010, 06:39 PM
Pipette Filler

Default Re: Biochemistry Major Career Options?

I am Biochemistry major at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, CA. I'm graduating in June and currently on the job hunt.

There's definitely a difference between a B.S., masters and PhD. If you should go to grad school all depends on what you want to do. If you want to do research definitely go, and if you want to head research you should get a PhD. The general order of operations in the research lab is the PhD's do the experiments, the master's set-up the experiment and the B.S's was glassware and clean up.

If you just want to work in a lab making a reasonable salary then you'll be fine with a B.S. There are jobs out there but you won't get rich, although you most likely won't get rich in field in general, no matter what you're education. If you do just get a B.S. or masters experience can substitute for education but you'll be competing with people who have the education and experience so it can be difficult.