Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Basic Lab Protocols and Techniques
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

How to perform nested PCR? Urgent help plz

How to perform nested PCR? Urgent help plz - Basic Lab Protocols and Techniques

How to perform nested PCR? Urgent help plz -

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2011, 05:15 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 41, Level: 1 Points: 41, Level: 1 Points: 41, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default How to perform nested PCR? Urgent help plz

Hi, I am new in lab, and I am unsure how to perform nested pcr, which I have to do for an experiment as my primers are too huge to perform regular pcr.
How is performing nested pcr different from regular pcr? I have 8 different primer pairs to test as it is in 8 different fragments (already ordered primers). Do I perform the pcr test separately 8 different times, and once this is done the dna needs be sequenced. Do I then send these 8 different pcr samples to the lab for sequencing? Please help guys! Thanks
Old 07-02-2011, 03:37 AM
M.D/Ph.D
Points: 3,877, Level: 41 Points: 3,877, Level: 41 Points: 3,877, Level: 41

Default Re: How to perform nested PCR? Urgent help plz

Nested PCR consists in first amplifying a genome region in a PCR. However , since this region is often too long to be analyzed (electrophoresed, sequenced, etc), a subsequent PCR is performed using the amplified product from the first PCR as template DNA. Considering this, from the different sets of primers, some are used to do the starting PCR and other are use to do the nested PCR. Which means the second pair of primer's sequences have to be present in the DNA fragment that was amplified in the first PCR.

You should check your protocol wisely in order to decide which primer sets to use in the first PCR and which in the nested.

Best of luck.