Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum

Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum (http://www.molecularstation.com/forum/)
-   Basic Lab Protocols and Techniques (http://www.molecularstation.com/forum/basic-lab-protocols-techniques/)
-   -   i have touched agrose gel which contain ethidium bromide (http://www.molecularstation.com/forum/basic-lab-protocols-techniques/69244-i-have-touched-agrose-gel-contain-ethidium-bromide.html)

hamid_v 07-08-2009 08:33 PM

i have touched agrose gel which contain ethidium bromide

i have touched agrose gel which contain ethidium bromide ( this is my first time )
------

That was around 0.1 gram ethidium bromide in 100ML TAE buffer

i poured the gel in Sink , i drained some water over gel , and then i moved the gel to dustbin using newspaper ( Newspaper got wet because of that )

So i have touched the gel when i moved from sink to dustbin ,

i had a little irritation in a finger and i washed that fastly with out soap

So i want to know :( am i going to have any problem because of this act ?
Am i going to take cancer :( only for 1 time touch ?

Best Regards
Hamid

Aga 07-08-2009 09:20 PM

Re: i have touched agrose gel which contain ethidium bromide

I don't think so. The concentration you mentioned is potentially harmful when you are exposed frequently, quite frequently. The most harmful is EtBr powder - when making water solution of it. It is dangerous when inhaled! EtBr solution boils at 100C - hence little chances of inhaling it at room temp. Its permeation through unbroken cell membranes is very little if at all.

If you washed that away nothing should happen, even if your finger was irritated (BTW was that cut or something else?). If you fell that something is wrong just visit your doctor.