Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Animal and Molecular Model Systems > Arabidopsis and Plant Biology
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Arabidopsis and Plant Biology Discuss Arabidopsis and Plant Biology Research.

Voting open for new NAASC members

Voting open for new NAASC members - Arabidopsis and Plant Biology

Voting open for new NAASC members - Discuss Arabidopsis and Plant Biology Research.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2008, 12:07 AM
Joanna Friesner
Posts: n/a
Default Voting open for new NAASC members

Voting for up to two candidates for the NAASC Steering Committee is now open
at [Only registered users see links. ]

Voting deadline: May 9, 2008

*Only North American users registered at TAIR may participate in voting*

You will need to enter your TAIR user id and password before voting and you
may only vote once, so mark both candidates of your choice before
submitting. You will be asked to confirm your selection before your votes
are counted.

Thanks to everyone who submitted names for nomination to the North American
Arabidopsis Steering Committee (NAASC). This year the 2 new NAASC members
will replace Xing Wang Deng and Judith Bender who are finishing 4 year terms
of service. The continuing NAASCers are: Xuemei Chen and Joe Kieber
(2005-2009), Julian Schroeder and Caren Chang (2006-2010), and George Haughn
and Scott Poethig (2007-2011).

This year, 23 of 30 people nominated have agreed to participate in the

Votes will be accepted through the online TAIR website until May 9, 2008.
Shortly after, the top vote-getters will be contacted to confirm their
willingness to serve, and newly elected NAASCers will be announced via the
Arab-gen listserve and the North American TAIR email list.

- The NAASC is made up of 8 volunteer scientists that are elected by the
North American Arabidopsis research community. Each member serves 4 years
with 2 new members elected each year and 2 members simultaneously rotate

- Originally established in 1992 in response to the need for elected North
American representatives to the Multinational Arabidopsis Steering
Committee, NAASC has evolved into the main organizing and fundraising body
for the International Conference on Arabidopsis Research when it is held in
North America.

- The NAASC also helps ensure solicitation and choice of the conference
site for meetings held outside of North America. The NAASC solicits funds to
help North American junior scientists travel to these international
meetings. Additionally, the NAASC serves as a liaison between members of the
community and government and not-for-profit granting agencies and provides
representation of the community to service facilities such as ABRC and TAIR.

- For more information on the NAASC, including the names of all 34
committee members that have generously donated their time to represent the
North American community:
[Only registered users see links. ]

- Contact information: Joanna Friesner ([Only registered users see links. ])

Reply With Quote

members , naasc , open , voting

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Participate in NAASC election- 2009 Joanna Friesner Arabidopsis and Plant Biology 0 01-14-2009 08:47 PM
Feb. 28 deadline to register for new NAASC nominations Joanna Friesner Arabidopsis and Plant Biology 0 02-18-2008 06:59 PM
Nominate NAASC representatives for 2008 Joanna Friesner Arabidopsis and Plant Biology 0 01-31-2008 08:41 PM
LAST chance to vote for the new NAASC members Joanna Friesner Arabidopsis and Plant Biology 0 05-19-2006 02:16 AM

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Molecular Station | All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.11775 seconds with 16 queries