Go Back   Science Forums Biology Forum Molecular Biology Forum Physics Chemistry Forum > Molecular Research Topics Forum > Molecular Biology Techniques > Agarose Gel Electrophoresis Forum
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Agarose Gel Electrophoresis Forum Agarose Gel Electrophoresis Forum. A forum to discuss electrophoresis staining, troubleshooting, and development of films for DNA and RNA gels.

DNA does not migrate into the gel

DNA does not migrate into the gel - Agarose Gel Electrophoresis Forum

DNA does not migrate into the gel - Agarose Gel Electrophoresis Forum. A forum to discuss electrophoresis staining, troubleshooting, and development of films for DNA and RNA gels.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2008, 07:08 AM
Pipette Filler
Points: 378, Level: 7 Points: 378, Level: 7 Points: 378, Level: 7
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default DNA does not migrate into the gel

Hi everyone.
I'm quite new to the thing, lousy experience with running gels.
Here's the thing.

I have some genomic DNA isolated from paraffin embedded formalin fixed tissue and I want to see how much it is degraded (formalin fixation really damages the DNA) - how bad the smear will be.

But the problem is, my DNA does not seem to want to enter the gel. It just sits in the wells.

I use 0.8% agarose and SYBRsafe dye (I add it to the agarose before pouring the gel) and 1x TAE, the run goes for 3.5 hrs at 60 V (4 V/cm). The running conditions are what puzzles me the most.

I mix approx 1 uL of loading dye (sucrose, TAE, xylene cianol and bromphenol blue) with 4 uL of the DNA. I cannot tell you the precise amount (varies greatly between samples), but there definetly is DNA in there (concentrations measured with Qubit and all fine)